MacGyver’s Jeep – Modeling Done

So remember me talking about the new project I had, modeling and texturing Mac’s Jeep Wrangler? Here’s what I had to say when I just started:

(…) it shouldn’t be as hard to model given its mostly blocky structure (it does have lots of details but I noticed the most time-consuming task when modeling a more curvy car is by far in all the vertex pulling and pushing to make sure its surface is smooth in all its curvyness)

Oh well allow me to retortOh well allow me to retort!

Sure, the body was ready pretty quickly. But then ALL THE DETAILS took some time. It even got to the point where I had a list of things left to do (learned a lot of car part names because of that – every cloud..!), and it seemed that for every two parts I crossed out I would notice another part I had to add. Well it’s partly my fault, I didn’t want to cheat. Initially I thought I’d model everything to medium-low detail, then decide on how the final render would look like and then focus the detailing on the parts that would actually show. But then that felt lazy. Not modeling the interior of a topless jeep? And by that train of thought, not texturing the back later on? So the decision has been to model everything to higher detail, and texture everything. That’s the goal.

And the modeling part is done! Here’s a quick turntable

… although it was everything but quick to render… can’t wait for Blender 2.64 to come out with multithreaded BVH building, I had to remove the tire treads from the turntable model to have it rendered today :S

The 4 hour long playlist with the timelapse videos will be there for you on those rainy sunday nights :p http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vihZVuFFDNQ&list=PL6C4B9530CF981045&index=1

12 responses to “MacGyver’s Jeep – Modeling Done

  1. cars for cash port talbot April 20, 2014 at 1:09 am

    Many thanks for a very well-researched post. Really
    makes me want to crack blogging yet again. Any specific guidance with regards to how most effective
    to get going…

  2. automobile sale April 20, 2014 at 1:17 am

    Don’t want too pass up any futuure blogposts…

  3. www.youtube.com April 20, 2014 at 2:05 am

    Your website is actually amazing. Could I folloow you on G+.

  4. buy my car May 30, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    Really love going through your site. Have you got any
    techniques to set one up??

  5. http://best-selling-german-cars.tumblr.com June 6, 2014 at 8:39 pm

    Do you have any sort of advice on setting up a blog? I
    am extremely bored of working on the same
    kind of thing in the office and would like a new challenge.

  6. Zak June 18, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    I really enjoy reading your blog. Have you any sort of techniques to set one
    up?

  7. www.youtube.com July 7, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    Many thanks for a fabulous blogpost. Truly interesting.

  8. http://www.youtube.com/user/carbuyersbirmingham July 7, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    Thanks a llot ffor the awesome post. Actually captivating.

  9. best-selling-german-cars.tumblr.com July 22, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    Your website is actually fantastic. Could I follow you on Google.

  10. http://www.Youtube.com July 23, 2014 at 2:09 am

    Alright, great weblog write-up. It has empowered
    to learn far more online.

  11. http://best-selling-german-cars.tumblr.com August 1, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    Ok, completely agreee. You may have struck the nail on the head.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

