Chapter 4, Part III

Completing Chapter 4, Modeling

Part III, Modeling with Modifiers

If you just thought to yourself “I could just use the spin tool to do this,” then good for you. And please be quiet. We’re learning the array modifier now.

Ah, three Parts, how original! Five is the number of new modifiers I learned in this part, and these are the names:

  • Mirror, for… mirroring;
  • Simple Deform, for simple deformations like twisting and tapering stuff;
  • Array, for doing OMG-kinds of stuff;
  • Bevel, to get rid of those unrealistically sharp edges; and
  • Edge Split, to make sure you do have some sharp edges on otherwise totally smooth models.

All that plus the Knife tool make up a nice toolkit already.

And that's where that toolkit got me

Oh yeah, this has to be mentioned. Along the road I hit a bump using the array modifier, my results didn’t match what was expected in the book and I thought I’d done everything right. I couldn’t find a solution that wasn’t considered a work-around, so I decided to e-mail Roland, the author, asking for help. And guess what: just a while later I had a response pinpointing the problem and giving a very thorough solution. That guy is awesome.

The “What We Missed” section was rather large this time, and I decided to play a bit with a few other modifiers. I’ve been hearing a lot about the Boolean modifier so I decided to check that out. Fun! You can basically hack shapes out of other shapes, or mix them together, or intersect them, but you better give it a try by yourself, it’s much better than having me yack about it.

The result of a Union of a cylinder and a cube on top, and Difference below. The resemblance with Bender from Futurama is striking!

Kinda causes havoc in geometry though, use with care.

Ready for something awesome? The Build modifier! This is really cool: apply it to a mesh, then if you didn’t get a heart attack from seeing most of it disappear, pick the start frame and for how long the animation should last. That’s right, animation. Press the play button, and coolness ensues. Right? Right? Try checking the Random box for even MORE coolness. Man I’m so gonna use this in my next project. No illustration here. Check it for yourself, you know you want to.

I did try a few others but I wasn’t pretty sure what they were doing just by applying them. That requires further study, but enough for today.

The next few days will be busy for me so I’m not sure when I’ll be able to post my progress, but fear not: I will be back :) And then, we’ll be talking about the next subject: Lighting!

———-

This post is part of a series on the book Blender Foundations.
You can find the base post of the series here.

Next post on the series: Chapter 5 (Lighting), Part I
Previous post on the series: Chapter 4 (Modeling), Part II

2 responses to “Chapter 4, Part III

  1. Moonwolf12 February 28, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    I’m really enjoying reading your blog! Keep it up!

    • Fax March 1, 2011 at 8:15 am

      Thank you very much Moonwolf, it’s awesome to know I’m being able to reach out. Stay tuned for a new post later today! ;)

Leave a Reply

