Before we get into that

I’m back! I’m now posting from a new city, and better yet… wait for it… a new country!

I’ve actually been back to Blender since yesterday, and I know I owe you a new post for Blender Foundations’ chapter on Lighting, but… you know when you start something just for fun, to check something out, and then it becomes sort of an obsession until you feel you’re done with it? Well I just had one of those – I first modeled a perfume flask as an exercise on materials, and it suddenly became…

… my first still scene in Blender! I call it “Date in the sunset”:

Click for high-res

Things I used/learned in the process:

  • Materials! Reflections, transparency, etc etc etc.
  • Procedural textures! The marble is one and the not-uniform look in the tiles is due to another one. I know, I know, I’m getting a little bit ahead of myself, we’ve only just covered modeling in the book. But what the heck, this is fun!
  • Modifiers, lots of them. For example, the tiles are actually modeled and arrayed, not a texture. The DoF (more on that later) doesn’t let you see, but each and every one of those little tiles has its own reflection of the scene, it’s awesome.
  • NURBS! Yeah, I used them to model the faucet’s handles real quick, thanks to a tutorial by 3D Immortal.
  • Depth of Field (or DoF)! A node in the compositor basically, this was my first chance to play with it.
  • Fur! Making that towel was a lot of fun, and thanks to Andrew Price for his awesome tutorial on this. Oh yeah, I used a cloth simulation as well for this. That’s also covered in that tutorial.
  • And lots of other stuff. It’s really is in the small projects that you learn the most.

So now that that’s done (or is it? I’m looking for feedback in BlenderArtists.org, so I might improve it even further!), we’re back to the book. For tomorrow, I promise a post on Lighting! Catch you then :)

6 responses to “Before we get into that

  1. Moonwolf12 March 4, 2011 at 12:52 am

    That looks awesome! I love the contact lense case touch XD

    • Fax March 4, 2011 at 11:50 am

      Thanks! I’ve been getting great feedback on that case, I’m glad I thought it would be more original than a toothbrush :D

      In fact I was thinking about having a go at my first video tutorial showing how to model it. It’s obviously very basic level, from a beginner to a beginner: the mirror modifier, loop-cuts, extrusion, basic materials. But I’m not sure if there’s a shortage of things like that. What do you think?

    • Fax March 4, 2011 at 11:56 am

      PS: Whoa, through Ben Amend’s site I found YOUR video tutorials! You should have told me about those already :) great job. So you’re the perfect person to answer my previous question: do you think there is a shortage of tutorials for beginners?

      • Moonwolf12 March 5, 2011 at 9:58 pm

        Defiantly! When I first started, I tried to follow tutorial’s from blendercookie.com and blenderguru.com, that was a fiasco! I resorted to just watching as many as a could until I made connections, but I was patient lol. I’ll bet people wouldn’t be that patient which is why Blender isn’t as public as it should be. I was thinking of putting out a series just for beginners, but Andrew’s already working on that so until then, they’ll have to make do with whats there.

        I also thought that making basic tutorials like I do was kinda dumb, with those two great sites but that’s for more advanced people. So yes, you should make a video tutorial!

  2. Fax March 8, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Guess what: Andrew Price from blenderguru.com picked this image for critique in his recent Focused Critique episode! Check it out at http://www.blenderguru.com/focused-critique-episode-7/ , there’s some really great artwork in this episode, and you don’t want to miss Andrew destroying his microphone shield while talking about my still :D

    Oh and yet another nice comment on that contacts case!..

Leave a Reply

