Chapter 5, Part II

Completing Chapter 5, Lighting

Part II, The Rigs

Okay, I know that the positioning of the lamp doesn’t matter to the final result, but it’s the sun. I find it easier to set its orientation if I put it up in the sky.

I, like anyone, hate Blue Screens Of Death. I thought those times were over, what the heck was that just now?! Yeah, it happened in the middle of setting up a lighting rig (more like in the end really), out of the blue I decided to throw on a youtube video I’d just remembered and BOOM. Save often, Faxie, save often. Anyway…

… like I said the last part of the chapter was devoted to setting up lighting rigs for outdoor scenes, closed indoor scenes and indoor scenes with windows. The first was fairly simple, if you ignore the fact that without surfacing it looks quite extraterrestrial:

Right?

The second, closed indoor, was when the whole BSOD incident happened. This is a preliminary render from when I was still getting weird results:

I did manage to get it right and man, I wish I could show you. No, nothing special, I'm just being dramatic.

The last one, indoor with a window, was pretty cool, although I did hit a bump with some weird artifacts showing up on the corners of the room and other places. Sharp edges, I guess, because I solved the problem with the room’s corners by making the room smooth, but you can still spot the issue on the top of the left chair:

See that? No idea how to solve it.

[Update: Solved meanwhile with the help of the author himself. Check it out here!]

And that’s the scene I’ll be using throughout the rest of the book. You better get used to it! :)

What’s next? If you have the book you know the answer to that question and you’re at least as excited as me. Gimme a C! Gimme an H! Gimme an A! Gim… alright, it’s Character Creation!

———-

This post is part of a series on the book Blender Foundations.
You can find the base post of the series here.

Next post on the series: Chapter 5 (Lighting), Update on Part II
Previous post on the series: Chapter 5 (Lighting), Part I

4 responses to “Chapter 5, Part II

  1. Moonwolf12 March 4, 2011 at 12:58 am

    Those artifacts might disappear if you used more than one lamp, or ambient occlusion. But set the occlusion down to maybe .2, cause if you don’t it’ll really wash out your room. You should probably know what it’s for XD it softens shadows making it look more realistic.

    • Fax March 4, 2011 at 12:23 pm

      Thanks for the tips! Unfortunately they didn’t work :( neither did adding more geometry to the chair to make it less edgy, nor playing with a bunch of other settings. I might send a cry for help to the author, but not before I exhaustively compare my scene to his – at first view the settings are pretty similar, but… there’s gotta be something!

Leave a Reply

