First Still, Second Version

You may remember my very first still in Blender:

Nice effort, innit?

Well after all the awesome feedback I got from this thread at BlenderNewbiesthis thread at BlenderArtists and Andrew Price’s Focused Critique, and about twenty hours of Blender Internal rendering (ouch), I am proud to present the new and improved version of what is still my first still (ha!) in Blender:

Click for high-res

Love it? Hate it? Tap-on-the-back-saying-yeaaaaaah-good-effort-mate? I’m not sure myself! What bugs me the most are the tiles, the DoF makes them look like a cheap texture when they actually had volume and bumpiness and reflection and this and that. But after those twenty hours, and seeing the tests I’m doing with Luxrender (yep, watch out for version 2.5 soon :P), I think I’ll leave this as it is!

Gotta mooove on!

4 responses to “First Still, Second Version

  1. moonwolf12 March 24, 2011 at 2:23 am

    Wow Fax, that looks great! it looks good for BI, can’t wait to see 2.5!

  2. David Low March 28, 2011 at 4:46 am

    Hey Fax, Great work! The New and Improved version certainly looks better. It’s so much clearer than the first version, and the colour balance is also better.

    • Fax March 28, 2011 at 7:39 am

      Thank you very much David! I found it was a fantastic exercise putting the first image up for critique, I learned a LOT with people’s suggestions and then of course implementing them. I literally went from thinking my image was “finished and looking ok for my first render” to “oh my, I could have done so much better, MUST rework this!!” :)

Leave a Reply

