Still the First Still, Luxrendered

It’s done!

Click for high-res

This was my first go with Luxrender, and I have to say I’m impressed. Will be using again! The final compositing (saturation and contrast, and DoF) was done in GIMP.

One of these days I may go about writing a tutorial on taking a completed scene you’ve done in Blender to Luxrender. It’s really not just installing, pressing a button and ta-daaa, photorealism. All the materials must be reworked, for example, and there’s plenty of other stuff to work on.

But that’s another time. Now, it’s time to get back to The Book!

9 responses to “Still the First Still, Luxrendered

  1. moonwolf12 March 28, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Wow, it just gets better! The tiles in the background look funny though, it looks shadowed in funny places.

    • Fax March 29, 2011 at 3:29 pm

      Thank you! Hmn I see what you mean, but I do like it better that way instead of more uniform. I guess it’s a matter of taste :)

  2. Reynante Martinez March 30, 2011 at 5:27 am

    Regardless of the background texture, this image sure blows my mind. Keep it coming. ;)
    -Reyn

    • Fax March 30, 2011 at 7:38 am

      Wow Reynante, thank you! I’ve been to your profile, your work is fantastic! I’ve only just woke up, and I’m already inspired for the rest of the day :)

      Edit: you could tell I had just woken up, I meant “I’ve been to your portfolio” ;)

  3. Simon May 4, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Looks good! Did you use particles for the towel?

    • Fax May 4, 2011 at 5:54 pm

      Thanks Simon! I did use particles in the first versions of the scene (rendered with Blender Internal), but although Luxrender supports particles in some circumstances, the results in this image weren’t great. So what I did was I converted my blender particles to mesh, and then extruded them just slightly, which gave this effect.

  4. Titanium Pen May 7, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Photorealistic! But LuxRender’s render times are very unrealistic…

    • Fax May 7, 2011 at 2:11 pm

      Thank you! Yeah, it can take a while, especially with stuff like refractions and reflections… But the results are rewarding if you can afford the time!

  5. Dype May 8, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    @Fax was going to ask how you did the towel, but thanks for the info. Lux supports both biased and unbiased rendering – unbiased, as far as i know, which is the default – is the “forever rendering” mode of LuxRender. you might want to check the wiki for details on the settings.

Leave a Reply

