Chapter 7, Episode IV

Chapter 7, Surfacing

Episode IV, High-Quality UV Unwrapping, Projection Painting and SSS

Once again, it’s a bit of a slog matching this stuff up, but this is much better than it was in the old days, so, like, get off my lawn if it’s too much for you.

Work, fun, and creepiness all at the same time, how often do you get that? As often as you unwrap and texture faces, that’s how often! We finally got to unwrapping like a real man (or woman) and then using projection painting to texture the face of the character. Add Subsurface Scattering and you’ve got a decent looking skin!

Sounds pretty easy. Nah. This was by far the part that required the most work, but it was a lot of fun at the same time and the results are really rewarding. Even though I’m a noob, I feel like a pro!

Really can't wait to open his eyes. And, um, yeah, he's got some lip gloss...

I remember a review of the book on Amazon by some guy who said something like  “I couldn’t read the book, the character is really ugly”. Huh? Well I just hope he never sees mine. Don’t get me wrong though – I’m sure he’d hate it, but I love my kiddo :P

I liked this part so much I didn’t think twice about accepting the challenge the author posed: “If you’re feeling ambitious, you can get front, side and rear views of some jeans and projection paint them onto the 3D pants”.

Yeah, he's against the light, but you already had a good look at him didn't you?

This part was very thorough, so aside from tweaking the values the book provided to those that gave me better results, and then playing a bit with the hair, there wasn’t much space for sidetracking. I’ve been doing that way too much anyway with side projects, but more on that in other posts ;)

So all that’s left now are the flowers, chairs and the outside landscape. Stay tuned!

———-

This post is part of a series on the book Blender Foundations.
You can find the base post of the series here.

Next post on the series: Chapter 7 (Surfacing), Episode V
Previous post on the series: Chapter 7 (Surfacing), Episode III

2 responses to “Chapter 7, Episode IV

  1. moonwolf12 March 31, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    You should give him a hair style, and maybe open his eyes a little!

  2. Fax April 1, 2011 at 8:36 am

    … see what I meant when I said I shouldn’t have styled his hair the way I style mine? ;)

    I think the eyes will be opened when I learn shape keys. Either that or the author forgot to tell us to open them, because he specifically said “model them near-shut, we’ll open them later” and I’m pretty sure I didn’t miss a bit!

Leave a Reply

