Vehicle Modeling Series, Part I

BlenderCookie’s Vehicle Modeling Series

Part I, The Silhouette

It is out! Well it has been for almost a week, but I’ve been busy doing other things :) This series amounts to a total 15 hours of video, and the end result looks incredibly awesome. But I’m not planning to just sit back and watch. You know me better than that by now. I’m doing it. And you’re going to read about it here ;)

First of all, a note on who I think this series is for. I read somewhere, I think in the middle of comments at BlenderCookie’s website, that this series was aimed at intermediate users. Although it does assume you have a very basic understanding of how the UI works, in my opinion this is awesome for what I call an Eager Beginner. Here’s why: if you are willing to pay attention, to pause the video a lot  and to try things for yourself (possibly even taking notes), this will teach you modeling from the ground up. Along with the “meta-technique” (workflow), all the technique is there: selection methods, extrusion, loop-cutting, edge sliding, splitting, merging, filling faces – and then of course I’m sure it will evolve to more advanced techniques as we start detailing -, all presented and explained in a clear albeit quick way (hence your necessary willingness to pause the video a lot) as you go along.

If like me you’ve already been presented to these foundation topics, you can do it like I’m doing it at least so far: watch a video part once to get a feel for what we’re doing in that specific part and to pay attention to what is said, and then watch it again and follow along actually doing the things in Blender.

And so far so good! We used David Revoy’s modeling sheets to define (and refine) the silhouette of the gyrocopter, and here is the result so far:

Can't say it's awesome yet, or I'll run out of adjectives for later.

Next up we’ll block the forms in the whole vehicle, so that we can then start detailing. You gotta be looking forward to that!

———-

This post is part of a series on BlenderCookie’s Vehicle Modeling Series.
You can find the base post of the series here.

Next post on the series: Part II (Blocking in the Shapes)

3 responses to “Vehicle Modeling Series, Part I

  1. moonwolf12 April 13, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    This project will keep you busy for a long time Fax!
    I didn’t buy it because I didn’t have the money, but if I see it’s worth it, I might!

  2. Jonathan Williamson April 13, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Looks like you’re following along great! I hope you’re able to follow all the way through.

    Good luck and enjoy!

  3. Fax April 14, 2011 at 11:27 am

    It sure will Moonwolf!
    Thanks Jonathan, for the comment and for the hard work putting this together. Great product so far, and you bet I’ll follow it to the end!

    Also, I’m pretty sure you’re having a lot of success with it, over the past few days the searches leading to my blog have been like these: vehicle modeling in blender, vehicle modeling series, vehicle series blender, blender 2011 vehicle modeling series, blendercookies vehicle series… Hope my reviews/reports help with visitor-to-customer conversion :)

Leave a Reply

