Vehicle Modeling Series, Done

Yep! In fact it has been done for a while – I said on the previous VMS post that I should be done around now, but after that I went on a spree and finished the thing in just a couple of days :) But… I was planning to do something special with it, since I thought it was too cool to just take a few still shots and post them up. So in the last couple of days I worked on a little something. And here it is (watch it in HD in Vimeo for best effect):

Since the model is not textured and only has simple materials it was a challenge to think of an as-simple scenario, but I think this does it. Quickly accomplished, but quite a lot of fun and learning to do!

So now that it’s over, and to avoid repeating myself, a final verdict of the thing as a product: 98%! I’ve already told you how much of a great catch this is and how I feel working on it has boosted my modeling skills and confidence, so no news there. I nitpickingly took 2% away because I was expecting a clean-up in the end (renaming objects, maybe linking some, and closing a couple of holes that we ended up forgetting about), but that’s kind of unfair because a) you can’t really blame Jonathan for letting those slip after 15 hours of extreme modeling and teaching, and b) fixing those things is easy-peasy and can be left as an exercise for the reader :)

And that’s it! Or is it? No, I still have at least a couple of plans for this baby. Stay tuned ;)

———-

This post is part of a series on BlenderCookie’s Vehicle Modeling Series.
You can find the base post of the series here.

Previous post on the series: Part V (Detailing the Wings)

8 responses to “Vehicle Modeling Series, Done

  1. Jeremy Deighan June 27, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Fax, you did a great job! Both on the modelling and on the video itself! I was first looking at the model and saw how complicated it was, and what a great deal of time it must have taken to make. Then I saw the video….and was SUPER impressed!

    I think you did this series even more justice by what you have created. The video is concise and clean, and has some great camera movements. I especially like the camera spinning as if it were a blade near the beginning. I would even suggest sending this off to Jonathan to see if he might use it as an intro video for the model itself on blendercookie.com, you never know!

    What other plans do you have for it in the future? There’s so much left to the imagination. I’d love to see it start up about half way through the video, and while you’re doing the camera snapshots you could see all the components turning on and working. Maybe even a flyaway at the end with Blender’s smoke simulation giving the fire and smoke you need!

    Anyways, keep up the excellent work my friend! I’ve been offline for a while now but hope to get back into the swing of things shortly.

    Jeremy Deighan

    • Fax June 27, 2011 at 8:24 pm

      Wow thank you Jeremy! I’m glad you liked it and I’m especially happy about some points you noticed as I did try to get those effects – “concise and clean” were important to me because there was no texture work, and the camera rotation was precisely to recall the rotors’ motion since the model is actually static. So I’m really glad that those do come across!

      My short-term plans for this (really short-term, like this-week short-term :) ) are about rigging some of the components, which will open doors to some cool animations. The long-term plans are more ambitious, but… they’ll be surprise surprise ;)

      Again thank you for the feedback! Looking forward to seeing your new stuff when you get back on track!

  2. Trond June 27, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    Looks great. Very god camera animation! I have also bougth that tutorial from BlenderCookie. Haven’t had the time yet to build it. But its coming.

    • Fax June 27, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      Thank you Trond! Do have a go at it when you get the chance, it is very much worth it. You’ll learn a lot from watching it but even more (a lot more in my opinion) if you follow along!

  3. Jeremy Deighan June 27, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    btw – What did you do the video editing in?

    Jeremy Deighan

    • Fax June 27, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      All you see is 99% Blender (the 1% is the credits, a single plate put together in Gimp)! The intro title is text with keyframed position, glare and light emission values; the fades are black color strips in the VSE with keyframed opacity… etc :)

      … which may be pretty dumb as I probably could have achieved those effects faster with some video editing software… but hey, it wasn’t so hard anyway!

  4. Smartdog July 25, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Thank you for documenting your work! Look Great and your prose are inspiring to all newbies (like myself). I have purchased the Tutorial and look forward to working on it. You took your time and sounds like your having a blast….that’s what Blender is all about!

    Smartdog

    • Fax July 25, 2011 at 8:22 pm

      You are more than welcome, I’m glad it motivates you! And I agree, having a lot of fun while working (a lot!) is what Blender is all about :) Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

