Have no Fear, Fax is Here

A whole month went by without updates here at the blog, but now I’m back on track. Here is my priority list:

  • finish modeling the Toyota, then decide whether to jump right into lighting surfacing and rendering or to put that on hold;
  • finish the Digital Texturing and Painting book;
  • work on a project I’m not ready to talk about yet;
  • make use of my brand new CGCookie Citizenship, mainly to have a look at the animation tutorials but maybe also “speedwatch” the hard-surface modeling ones;
  • get the trial version of Filter Forge and use the 30 days to try to get it for free;
  • start a new scene, this time mostly focused on having a go at sculpting and organic modeling;
  • finally have a go at tracking with the Tomato branch, been postponing this for too long; and
  • maybe participate in some contest out there.
Those are only the Blender-related ones. Aside from all the rest I have also picked up photography meanwhile, and since you may be interested in that I might let you know about it too. So plenty to do and plenty for you to hear about ;) Stay tuned!
5 responses to “Have no Fear, Fax is Here

  1. BnBGobo99 September 5, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Don’t forget to take time to sleep during all this! Eight hours a night, you know. ;)
    Good luck on your secret project, I look forward to seeing the WIPs soon. (Speaking of contests, we haven’t had a weekly/monthly challenge on BN for a long time… hm?)

  2. Jeremy Deighan September 8, 2011 at 6:09 am

    Hey Fax! Glad to hear you are back! It’s pretty funny, we must have taken the same hiatus about the same time. I’ve been out for a month with a lot going on in the personal life, but I’m ready to get back into the game. I plan on getting back into 3D, and adding a portfolio of both 3D work and other work I’ve done in the past, so stay tuned!

    Jeremy

  3. Fax February 23, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Wow guys, sorry for the late response. Late indeed! I hope to get this back on track now.
    Great to hear you’re safe and sound BnB! And Jeremy I’ve been seeing your frequent updates on my rss feed, you’re been doing great, keep it up!

    • Jeremy Deighan February 25, 2012 at 2:21 am

      Haha seems like we go back and forth Fax! My lovely fiancee has been pushing me hard to keep at it. I really enjoying it and am about to purchase some instructional videos on blendercookie.com Once I have those fundamentals down I wanna start focusing on my own stuff.

      I suppose you really liked the modelling series they did?

      • Fax February 25, 2012 at 1:17 pm

        Yep! If you’re looking to improve your hard-surface modeling that’s the place to go for sure. For character modeling I’ve been hearing very good things about Jonathan Williamson’s book, but I haven’t checked it out myself. There’s also the Ninja modeling tutorial by CGMasters – I started it and learned tons just in the beginning, but haven’t gotten around to finishing it yet.

        Is modeling your favorite part of the pipeline so far? I thought I’d have a clear preference by now but I really can’t say I do!

Leave a Reply

